Do you have a Bucket List?

Its that time of year (another year almost over) for introspection, reflection, did you meet your expectations?

I’m not talking about work related stuff, promotions etc, I’m talking about goals, yes, your own targets ….where you hoped you might be, what you thought you may have accomplished? Too philosophical and heavy?? OK! What about travels, exploring the world, or pursuing a hobby, that sort of thing?

Will you share? Shall I go first?

My hobby is my work, which is great as I get to play all the time! Being inspired by strange odd things, the bark of a tree, the colour of the sky, new twists, changing styles, new bead colours etc. Often a design might be an item I am looking for, and cannot find just the right thing, so I try to create one! I work with glass, silverware, textiles, often commissioned by hotels, event management companies, gallery shops, small boutiques, entrepreneurs with an idea they would like to develop. The economic downturn (these two words are pretty dirty now, the real weapons of mass destruction I say!) has slowed experimentation, and creativity, with margins cut, companies are not willing to experiment much, but I still do!

Its been an unusual year; lots of travel, new places, no complaints there! Work has been sporadic, crammed into a fewer months; India has many, many holidays and its often difficult to keep the momentum up with many, many stops and starts throughout the year, but one does manage somehow, albeit extremely stressful!

I digress….. launching Tiffinware online was meant to give me the freedom to explore other activities which had been put on hold for many years. You know…I really want to do this, but no time now….. you put it on the back burner to pursue later, when you have time! Sound familiar? Well I don’t think that time ever comes, does it? Not unless you make a serious and concerted effort? It reminds me of that amazing poem:

“What is this life if full of care

We have no time to stand and stare?

No time to stand beneath the boughs

And stare as long as sheep, or cows.

No time to see, when woods we pass,

Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

No time to see, in broad daylight,

Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,

And watch her feet, how they can dance.

No time to wait till her mouth can

Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this, if full of care,

We have no time to stand and stare.”

 William Henry Davies 1871 – 1940

The poem was written a while ago, why haven’t we learnt yet?

Sunrise in Scotland

I look at kids constantly on their phones or iPads no more real chatting and communication, all virtual …. they don’t climb trees, ride bikes, their make believe games are virtual, ours were real (definitely sound my age!)  …..but we still don’t stop and stare do we?

Several recent studies have concluded that people of advancing years (soon to be me!) regret not spending more time with their loved ones and the close runner up was, ….. travel … “Go forth into the world…..” create your bucket list, prioritise, have some fun!!

My new year resolution will be to travel more, balance work ( she says writing this at 11pm!) with family life, pursue the interesting things I never have time for and, lie about and read! What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

